NCELP Language Hubs background

MFL Hubs were first announced in the DfE Social Mobility Action Plan (PDF), published in December 2017. In December 2018 the Centre for Excellence for Language Pedagogy (NCELP) was launched with Hub school network of nine Language Hubs. Each Hub comprised of 5 schools: 1 Lead School and 4 Hub Schools, which were selected by the Lead School.

We supported and monitored the work of this national collaborative network of MFL teachers and their schools to raise the standards of language teaching through the development of teaching resources, assessments, and professional development.

There were 18 Specialist Teachers in nine Lead Schools, each working with four local Hub schools (45 schools in total), as well as with a wider network of a further 90 schools linked to the Hubs.



We provide:

All our professional development is informed by national and international research, particularly in the areas of vocabulary, phonics, grammar, meaningful practice, corrective feedback in interaction, target language use, assessment, and motivation.


Each Hub ran a regular Teacher Research Group. 

Themes include:

  • Systematic phonics;
  • Establishing and consolidating a core vocabulary;
  • Establishing a grammar backbone: segmenting and sequencing;
  • What do pupils know about grammar after primary school;
  • Making opportunities for using grammar and automatisation;
  • Error tolerance and correction;
  • Planning target language use in the classroom;
  • Scheme of work and curriculum design;
  • Assessments; 
  • Differentiation;
  • GCSE subject content.

Language Hub Network

Read more about the nine Language Hubs, including links to the schools involved.

Schools within the Language Hub Network

Link to Lead School private site | Link to Hub School private site